Evidence-Based Practice requires that clinicians search the literature to find answers to their clinical questions. There are literally millions of published reports, journal articles, correspondence and studies available to clinicians. Choosing the best resource to search is an important decision. Large databases such as PubMed/MEDLINE will give you access to the primary literature. Secondary resources will provide you with an assessment of the original study. Systematic reviews which help summarize the results from a number of studies. These are often called “pre-appraised” or EBP resources.
A search of diabetes and bariatric surgery identified this citation: Mingrone G, Panunzi S, De Gaetano A, et al. Bariatric surgery versus conventional medical therapy for type 2 diabetes. N Engl J Med. 2012;366:1577-85. This trial found that for severely obese patients with type 2 diabetes, bariatric surgery resulted in reduced levels of HbA1c, glucose and BMI than did medical therapy.
The Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature is the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. CINAHL with Full Text, provides indexing for journals from the fields of nursing and allied health. The database contains more than 1,000,000 records dating back to 1982. CINAHL with Full Text provides full text for hundreds of journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials.
MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.
Focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, alternative, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers full text articles from often peer-reviewed journals and reports. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts.
This database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names.
This is a small collection of full text consumer health magazines. Topics include the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Health Source: Consumer Edition provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines.
MedicLatina is a unique collection of medical research and investigatory journals from renowned Latin American and Spanish publishers. This Spanish language database contains full text peer-reviewed medical journals in native Spanish.
Multi-Subject Article Databases Which Contain Nursing Journals
Academic Search Complete offers an enormous collection of full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, it includes peer-reviewed full text for STEM research, as well as for the social sciences and humanities. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more.
This multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,750 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering subject areas of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and 164,424 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 453,000 photos, maps & flags.
Access online reference sets published by Salem Press, including: Magill's Medical Guide; Psychology & Mental Health; Genetics; Addictions & Substance Abuse; Complementary & Alternative Medicine; Infectious Diseases & Conditions; and Cancer. The databases covers diseases, disorders, genetics, treatments, procedures, specialties, anatomy, biology, and related issues, with sidebars addressing recent developments in medicine and concise information boxes for all diseases and disorders.
PubMed comprises more than 22 million citations for biomedical articles from MEDLINE and life science journals. Access to titles / abstracts is free. Citations may include links to full-text articles from PubMed Central or publisher web sites. Check the UCC Library search box for full text and feel free to request the full-text through Interlibrary Loan.
The Cochrane Library contains high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It includes reliable evidence from Cochrane systematic reviews and a registry of published clinical trials. The methodology used to create the Cochrane reviews is recognized as the gold standard for developing systematic reviews. This is not a UCC Library resource, so you will only be able to view the abstracts. Check the UCC Library search box for full text and feel free to request the full-text through Interlibrary Loan.
The databases DARE, NHS, EED and HTA assist decision-makers by identifying and describing systematic reviews and economic evaluations, appraising their quality, and highlighting their relative strengths and weaknesses. Check the UCC Library search box for full text and feel free to request the full-text through Interlibrary Loan.
Clinical Inquiries provides answers to clinical questions by using a structured search, critical appraisal, clinical perspective, and rigorous peer review. FPIN Clinical Inquiries deliver evidence for point of care use.
Clinical Evidence describes the best available evidence from systematic reviews, RCTs, and observational studies when appropriate for assessing the benefits and harms of treatments. This is not a UCC Library resource, so you will only be able to view the abstracts. Check the UCC Library search box for full text and feel free to request the full-text through Interlibrary Loan.
The TRIP Database searches across multiple internet sites for evidence-based content. It covers key medical journals, Cochrane Systematic reviews, clinical guidelines, and other highly relevant websites to help health professionals find high quality clinical evidence for clinical practice.