Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Useful Web Resources
This search engine claims to search 26 million pages of trustworthy wine information.
The Cellars at the Southern Oregon Wine Institute
Events, classes, and reports related to southern Oregon wine making and to the Umpqua Community College viticulture and enology program.
Hannon Library Digital Collection (Southern Oregon University)
The "Wine of Southern Oregon" collection contains wine bottle labels, photographs, and miscellanea contributed by participating area vineyards, wineries, and individuals connected to Southern Oregon's wine industry. These materials document the important history of grape growing and wine production in the Rogue Valley American Viticultural Area (AVA), including the Bear Creek Valley, Applegate Valley, and Illinois Valley.
Wine expert, Jancis Robinson, offers free access to some information but requires a paid subscription for "The Purple Pages".
Linfield College Oregon Wine History Archive
A chronicle of the Oregon wine industry which includes historical documents from early wine pioneers. OWHA’s goal is to document all aspects and regions of the Oregon industry and to collect and preserve historical materials from winery owners, growers, researchers, marketers, and sellers. DigitalCommons@Linfield provides an overview of the collection, as well as related exhibits and highlights from each wine grower or organization.
OWHA materials include photographs, diaries, scrapbooks, audio and video files, planting notes, crop reports, epidemic documentation, tasters’ notes, wine recipes, notebooks, correspondence, maps, committee minutes, newsletters, legislative records, information about local and international cooperation, business records, wine labels, newspaper articles, and advertising materials from early days to the present.
A guide to the state's food, farms and markets published in partnership with the Oregon Department of Agriculture and featuring stories about the state's top crops, livestock, agribusiness, tourism, food safety and local products.
The Oregon Wine Board produces this site with very brief overviews of Oregon terroirs, wine pioneers in the state, and a searchable, but limited, database of Oregon wineries.
Oregon Wine Research Institute
The Oregon Wine Research Institute (OWRI) is the region's first multi-disciplinary comprehensive program dedicated to addressing the research and outreach needs of the wine industry in Oregon. The Institute is housed in Oregon State University's College of Agricultural Sciences, and is lead by university and industry leaders. The site features the full text of current and recent reports--or links to more information--regarding research in viticulture, enology, and wine industry business and marketing.
The website of the Beverage Testing Institute features a wine of the week, beer of the week, and spirit of the week as well as the full text of articles covering all three beverages.
Umpqua Valley Wineries
This site provides a complete directory of Umpqua Valley wineries, their wines and amenities, and links to their websites. There is an overview of the region, maps, "Wine Tasting 101", and lots more.
Wine Lover's Page
Robin Garr, the 30 second wine advisor, provides a discussion group, food and wine forum, a variety of columnists, and archives of all issues of The 30 Second Wine Advisor and the weekly Wine Advisor FoodLetter since Jan. 2, 2007. And goes back even further than that.
Umpqua Community College Library, 1140 Umpqua College Rd., Roseburg, OR 97470, 541-440-4640
Except where otherwise noted, content in these research guides is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.