Research Guides: Economics: ECON at the Library

Economics definitions and theories: Search Credo Reference

Credo Reference
The complete text and images of hundreds of reference books can be searched simultaneously for all kinds of topics. Browse individual books or subjects. Search results also link to our other database subscriptions and the UCC library catalog. A great place to start your research.

Search Credo Reference for overviews of economic theories

Minimum Wage report from CQ Researcher
A great overview of minimum wage with links to other sources.

CQ Researcher
CQ from Congressional Quarterly provides a complete source on the most current and controversial issues of the day with comprehensive articles, complete summaries, all the pros and cons, bibliographies and more.

Researching Companies

Business Insights: Global
A research tool that meets core curriculum requirements in undergraduate and graduate case study work as well as the business research needs of the job seeker or casual investor. It offers dynamic, accurate, and up-to-date topical business information and company and industry intelligence on thousands of global companies.
Business Source Premier
This business research database provides full text for thousands of journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed business publications. The database provides full text back to 1886, and searchable cited references back to 1998. Full text coverage includes all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Search by company, industry, publication, or subject. You can also find business profiles, industry profiles, and country and market research reports.

Business News

Regional Business News
Look here for full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.

Business Journals in Multi-Subject Online Collections

UCC Library Search Box
Use the UCC Library Search Box to find articles in academic and trade journals, news and magazine articles, print books, ebooks, streaming video, and patents.

Academic OneFile
Complete source for peer-reviewed scholarly articles across all academic disciplines.
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete offers an enormous collection of full-text journals, providing users access to critical information from many sources unique to this database. In addition, it includes peer-reviewed full text for STEM research, as well as for the social sciences and humanities. Scholarly content covers a broad range of important areas of academic study, including anthropology, engineering, law, sciences and more.
Diversity Studies Collection
Articles that explore cultural differences, influences in society, and more.
General OneFile
Magazine, news, and journal articles on general interest topics and current events.
Gale in Context: Environmental Studies
Multimedia coverage of environmental issues, including health care and climate change.

Formerly named GREENR
Insurance and Liability Collection
Articles on mortgages, labor relations, legal issues, and more.
Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni contains more than 15,000 news, legal and business sources including print and online journals, television and radio broadcasts, newswires and blogs, local, regional, national and international newspapers with deep archives, extensive legal sources for federal and state cases and statutes, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions since 1790, business information on more than 80 million U.S. and international companies and more than 75 million executives.
Master File
This multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,750 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering subject areas of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and 164,424 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 453,000 photos, maps & flags.
Entrepreneurship Collection
Full-text insights, tips and strategies for students and entrepreneurs.
Gale Business: Entrepreneurship
Real business plans, how-to guides, articles, and more.

Formerly named Small Business Resource Center
TOPICsearch
TOPICsearch contains full text for over 60,000 articles from 399 diverse sources including international and regional newspapers, periodicals, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, and government information.
World History Collection
Well-rounded coverage of current thinking and scholarly work.

Primary and Secondary Information Sources

Primary Sources

Primary Source Information comes directly from real life data or from the time of an event.

Examples include: statistics, laboratory experiments and reports on the results of those experiments, news reporting that occurs when an event happens, diaries/journals, transcripts of speeches.

Secondary Sources

Secondary Source Information comes from a collection of primary-source data that is drawn together to provide a larger picture view of an event or to provide an opinion or review.

Examples include: most textbooks, summaries of past research (called "literature reviews"), overviews and encyclopedia summaries, policy or product recommendations.

Finding Peer-Reviewed Articles

Business Economics and Theory
"With a strong emphasis on titles covered in the EconLit database, this collection provides academic journals and magazines focusing on topics in economics."
Business Collection
Articles on accounting, marketing and management, and related fields.

For the best results, make sure to enter keywords, NOT full sentences!
(GOOD: "fiscal cliff and Congress") (BAD: "What steps should Congress take to avoid future fiscal cliff situations?")

eBooks on Economics

eBook Academic Collection
Access over 200,000 full-text ebooks on academic subjects from business to science and engineering to the humanities.

Researching International Economics

Gale in Context: Global Issues
International academic perspectives on global issues.
Global Road Warrior
Learn about countries, their culture, and their customs. Find recipes, business etiquette, languages spoken, country demographics and statistics, ethnic groups, stereotypes, society and culture, and lots more.

Economics: ECON at the Library