Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Smithsonian Open Access
Roughly 2.8 million of the museum’s digital image and data collections have been made free to access, download, transform, and use for any purpose without further permission from the Smithsonian.
Bioregion - Southern Oregon Digital Archives
Over the past 30 years the Southern Oregon University Library has actively collected hundreds of federal and state government publications relating to the Southern Oregon Klamath-Siskiyou bioregion. Along with those publications we receive through the U.S. Government Printing Office and the Oregon State Library, we have made special efforts to collect “fugitive” and “gray” documents, those materials not normally distributed through these channels.
Bumblebee Collection - Southern Oregon Digital Archives
The SOU Insect Museum Bumblebee Collection showcases digital images and field collection data of preserved bumblebee (Bombus sp.) specimens that were collected by students, researchers, and amateur collectors from diverse sites in North America, primarily the Klamath-Siskiyou ecoregion of Southern Oregon and Northern California.
Butterfly Collection - Southern Oregon Digital Archives
The SOU Insect Museum Butterfly Collection showcases digital images and field collection data of preserved butterflies (Lepidoptera sp.) specimens that were collected by students, researchers, and amateur collectors primarily from the Cascade-Siskiyou National Monument, Oregon, and other sites in the Klamath-Siskiyou ecoregion of Southern Oregon and Northern California.
Kalmiopsis Wilderness - Southern Oregon Digital Archives
Includes photographs of the Kalmiopsis Wilderness area and environs taken during retired ranger Rene Casteran’s career (1986-2008) as a wilderness ranger on the Siskiyou National Forest (later Rogue River-Siskiyou National Forest) in Oregon and California.
Rogue River National Forest Historic Images - Southern Oregon Digital Archives
Images selected from the Historical Records Collection of Rogue River National Forest trace 100 years of forest history, economy, landscapes, and recreation from its founding as Crater National Forest in 1908.
Collections at the DPLA
Digital Public Library of America
The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science. DPLA aims to expand this crucial realm of openly available materials, and make those riches more easily discovered and more widely usable and used, through its three main elements:
DPLA: This Land Is Your Land: Parks and Public Spaces
There are few ideas more sacred than the physical, emotional, and spiritual connections individuals have had with nature. The love of these beautiful landscapes has inspired countless generations to protect and preserve these lands and to make sure that the wild, untamed beauty will continue to awe future generations who have yet to come across their magnificence.
DPLA: Urban Parks in the United States
Urban parks have continually adapted to meet the needs of the publics they serve, evolving, for example, from places to simply enjoy nature into recreation sites that offer activities and equipment. More than just sites for leisure, they also play a broader role in supporting community engagement by providing places for civic participation, enhancing quality of life and property values, and offering safe, healthy, and convenient recreation options.
State of Oregon Collections
State of Oregon Government Publications
The Oregon Documents Depository Program supports government transparency and civic education by ensuring consistent and coordinated permanent public access to information published by Oregon state government.
Maps published by the State of Oregon, US Federal Government, and other organizations.
Publications in Oregon from city and county governments, tribal governments, non-profits, organizations, voter's pamphlets, the People's Power League, scrip, and more.
Umpqua Community College Library, 1140 Umpqua College Rd., Roseburg, OR 97470, 541-440-4640
Except where otherwise noted, content in these research guides is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.