Skip to main content

APA: Article Examples

Learn how to create a paper and source citations in APA style.

Journal Article (p.198)

Numbers in parentheses refer to specific pages in the APA 6th Edition manual.

General Format

In-Text Citation (Quotation):

(Author Surname, Year, page number)

In-Text Citation (Paraphrase): APA does not require the page number, check with your instructor for preference. 

(Author Surname, Year) 

References:

Author Surname, First Initial. Second Initial. (Year). Article title: Subtitle. Journal Title, Volume(issue), page range. doi:xx.xxxxxxxxxx OR Retrieved from URL of journal home page [if available]. 

Example

In-Text Citation (Quotation):

(Pettigrew, 2009, p. 61)

In-Text Citation (Paraphrase): APA does not require the page number, check with your instructor for preference. 

(Pettigrew, 2009) 

References:

Pettigrew, T. F. (2009). Secondary transfer effect of contact: Do intergroup contact effects spread to noncontacted outgroups? Social Psychology, 40(2), 55-65. doi:10.1027/1864-9335.40.2.55

Tips:

  • If a journal article has a Digital Object Identifier (DOI) listed, you will always include this identifier in your reference; do not include the URL of the journal's home page or of the database from which you retrieved the article if a DOI is available.
  • If you viewed a journal article in an online database and it does not have a DOI, you will need to do a quick search outside of the database to locate the URL for the journal's home page (pp. 191-192). The URL must be included in the reference. If the journal is no longer being published and it does not have a home page, then include the URL for the home page of the database from which you retrieved the article (p. 192).
  • If you viewed a journal article in its print format, check if it has a DOI listed. If it does not, your reference to the article would end after you provide the page range of the article.

Numbers in parentheses refer to specific pages in the APA 6th Edition manual.

General Format

In-Text Citation (Quotation):

(Author Surname & Author Surname, Year, page number)

In-Text Citation (Paraphrase): APA does not require the page number, check with your instructor for preference. 

(Author Surname & Author Surname, Year) 

References:

Author Surname, First Initial. Second Initial., & Author Surname, First Initial. Second Initial. (Year). Article title: Subtitle. Journal Title, Volume(issue), page range. doi:xx.xxxxxxxxxx OR Retrieved from URL of journal home page [if available].

Example

In-Text Citation (Quotation):

(Elloy & Flynn, 1998, p. 98)

In-Text Citation (Paraphrase): APA does not require the page number, check with your instructor for preference. 

(Elloy & Flynn, 1998)

References:

Elloy, D. F., & Flynn, W. R. (1998). Job involvement and organization commitment among dual-income and single-income families: A multiple-site study. Journal of Social Psychology, 138(1), 93-101. Retrieved from http://tandfonline.com/toc/vsoc20/current

Tips:

  • If a journal article has a Digital Object Identifier (DOI) listed, you will always include this identifier in your reference; do not include the URL of the journal's home page or of the database from which you retrieved the article if a DOI is available.
  • If you viewed a journal article in an online database and it does not have a DOI, you will need to do a quick search outside of the database to locate the URL for the journal's home page (pp. 191-192). The URL must be included in the reference. If the journal is no longer being published and it does not have a home page, then include the URL for the home page of the database from which you retrieved the article (p. 192).
  • If you viewed a journal article in its print format, check if it has a DOI listed. If it does not, your reference to the article would end after you provide the page range of the article

Numbers in parentheses refer to specific pages in the APA 6th Edition manual.

General Format

In-Text Citation (Quotation):

(Author Surname, Author Surname, & Author Surname, Year, page number)

(Author Surname et al., Year, page number)

In-Text Citation (Paraphrase): APA does not require the page number, check with your instructor for preference.

(Author Surname, Author Surname, & Author Surname, Year)     Tip: For the first time you cite this source.

(Author Surname et al., Year)     Tip: For any subsequent citations.

References:

Author Surname, First Initial. Second Initial., Author Surname, First Initial. Second Initial., & Author Surname, First Initial. Second Initial. (Year). Article title: Subtitle. Journal Title, Volume(issue). page range. doi:xx.xxxxxxxxxx OR Retrieved from URL of journal home page [if available].

Example

In-Text Citation (Quotation):

(Mohr, Trudeau, Nigg, & Nigg, 2016, p. 76)      Tip: For the first time you cite this source.

(Mohr et al., 2016, p. 76)     Tip: For any subsequent citations.

In-Text Citation (Paraphrase): APA does not require the page number, check with your instructor for preference. 

(Mohr, Trudeau, Nigg, & Nigg, 2016)     Tip: For the first time you cite this source.

(Mohr et al., 2016)     Tip: For any subsequent citations.

 

References:

Mohr, M., Trudeau, M. B., Nigg, S. R., & Nigg, B. M. (2016). Increased athletic performance in lighter basketball shoes: Shoe or psychological effect? International Journal of Sports Physiology and Performance, 11(1), 74-79. doi:10.1123/ijspp.2014-0538

Tips:

  • If a journal article has a Digital Object Identifier (DOI) listed, you will always include this identifier in your reference; do not include the URL of the journal's home page or of the database from which you retrieved the article if a DOI is available.
  • If you viewed a journal article in an online database and it does not have a DOI, you will need to do a quick search outside of the database to locate the URL for the journal's home page (pp. 191-192). The URL must be included in the reference. If the journal is no longer being published and it does not have a home page, then include the URL for the home page of the database from which you retrieved the article (p. 192).
  • If you viewed a journal article in its print format, check if it has a DOI listed. If it does not, your reference to the article would end after you provide the page range of the article

Numbers in parentheses refer to specific pages in the APA 6th Edition manual.

General Format

In-Text Citation (Quotation):

(Author Surname et al., Year, page number)

In-Text Citation (Paraphrase): APA does not require the page number, check with your instructor for preference.

(Author Surname et al., Year) 

References: Write out all authors with an '&' before the last author

Author Surname, First Initial. Second Initial., Author Surname, First Initial. Second Initial., Author Surname, First Initial. Second Initial., Author Surname, First Initial. Second Initial., Author Surname, First Initial. Second Initial., & Author Surname, First Initial. Second Initial. (Year). Article title: Subtitle. Journal Title, Volume(issue). page range. doi:xx.xxxxxxxxxx OR Retrieved from URL of journal home page [if available] 

Example

In-Text Citation (Quotation):

(Ruzzo et al., 2016, p. 457)

In-Text Citation (Paraphrase): APA does not require the page number, check with your instructor for preference.

(Ruzzo et al., 2016)

References: Write out all authors with an '&' before the last author.

Ruzzo, C., Flamma, V., Nava, V., Collu, M., Failla, G., & Arena, F. (2016). Progress on the experimental set-up for the testing of a floating offshore wind turbine scaled model in a field site. Wind Engineering, 40(5), 455-467. doi:10.1177/0309524X16660023 

Tips:

  • If a journal article has a Digital Object Identifier (DOI) listed, you will always include this identifier in your reference; do not include the URL of the journal's home page or of the database from which you retrieved the article if a DOI is available.
  • If you viewed a journal article in an online database and it does not have a DOI, you will need to do a quick search outside of the database to locate the URL for the journal's home page (pp. 191-192). The URL must be included in the reference. If the journal is no longer being published and it does not have a home page, then include the URL for the home page of the database from which you retrieved the article (p. 192).
  • If you viewed a journal article in its print format, check if it has a DOI listed. If it does not, your reference to the article would end after you provide the page range of the article

Numbers in parentheses refer to specific pages in the APA 6th Edition manual.

General Format

In-Text Citation (Quotation):

(Author Surname et al., Year, page number)

In-Text Citation (Paraphrase): APA does not require the page number, check with your instructor for preference.

(Author Surname et al., Year) 

References: Write out the first six authors followed by '. . . ' and the last author.

Author Surname, First Initial. Second Initial., Author Surname, First Initial. Second Initial., Author Surname, First Initial. Second Initial., Author Surname, First Initial. Second Initial., Author Surname, First Initial. Second Initial.Author Surname, First Initial. Second Initial., . . . Last Author Surname, First Initial. Second Initial. (Year). Article title: Subtitle. Journal Title, Volume(issue). page range. doi:xx.xxxxxxxxxx OR Retrieved from URL of journal home page [if available] 

Example

In-Text Citation (Quotation):

(Piacentini et al., 2016, p. 826)

In-Text Citation (Paraphrase): APA does not require the page number, check with your instructor for preference.

(Piacentini et al., 2016)

References: Write out the first six authors followed by '. . . ' and the last author.

Piacentini, M. F., Witard, O.C., Tonoli, C., Jackman, S. R., Turner, J. E., Kies, A. K., . . . Meeusen, R. (2016). Effect of intensive training on mood with no effect on brain-derived neurotrophic factor. International Journal of Sports Physiology and Performance, 11(6), 824-830. doi:10.1123/ijspp.2015-0279 

Tips:

  • If a journal article has a Digital Object Identifier (DOI) listed, you will always include this identifier in your reference; do not include the URL of the journal's home page or of the database from which you retrieved the article if a DOI is available.
  • If you viewed a journal article in an online database and it does not have a DOI, you will need to do a quick search outside of the database to locate the URL for the journal's home page (pp. 191-192). The URL must be included in the reference. If the journal is no longer being published and it does not have a home page, then include the URL for the home page of the database from which you retrieved the article (p. 192).
  • If you viewed a journal article in its print format, check if it has a DOI listed. If it does not, your reference to the article would end after you provide the page range of the article.
Loading ...

DOIs (Digital Object Identifiers) (p. 191)

Numbers in parentheses refer to specific pages in the APA 6th Edition manual.

If a Digital Object Identifier (DOI) is listed on either a print or an electronic source it is included in the reference (pp.188-192).  A DOI is a unique alphanumeric string that is used to identify a certain source (typically journal articles).  It is often found on the first page of an article.

Example:

doi:10.1080/14622200410001676305

For more information on DOIs and locating a DOI on a source, check out pages 188-192 of the APA Manual and/or this helpful DOI flow chart from the official APA site.

Magazine Article (p. 200)

Numbers in parentheses refer to specific pages in the APA 6th Edition manual.

General Format

In-Text Citation (Quotation):

(Author Surname, Year, page number)

In-Text Citation (Paraphrase): APA does not require the page number, check with your instructor for preference. 

(Author Surname, Year)

References:

Author Surname, First Initial. Second Initial. (Year, Month Day). Article title: Subtitle. Magazine Title, Volume(issue), page range. Retrieved from URL of magazine home page [if viewed online].

Example

In-Text Citation (Quotation):

(Henry & Mehta, 1990, p. 30)

In-Text Citation (Paraphrase): APA does not require the page number, check with your instructor for preference. 

(Henry & Mehta, 1990)

References:

Henry, W. A., & Mehta, N. S. (1990, April 9). Beyond the melting pot. Time, 135, 28-31.

Tips:

  • If you view a magazine article online, include the URL of the magazine's home page in your reference.
  • If you view a magazine article from within an article database, you will have to do a quick search outside of the database to locate the home page for that particular magazine (p. 198).  Include the URL of the magazine's home page in your reference.

Newspaper Article (pp. 200-201)

Numbers in parentheses refer to specific pages in the APA 6th Edition manual.

General Format

In-Text Citation (Quotation):

(Author Surname, Year, page number)

In-Text Citation (Paraphrase): APA does not require the page number, check with your instructor for preference. 

(Author Surname, Year)

References:

Author Surname, First Initial. Second Initial. (Year, Month Day). Article title: Subtitle. Newspaper Title, page range. Retrieved from URL [if viewed online] 

Example

In-Text Citation (Quotation):

(Severson & Martin, 2009)

In-Text Citation (Paraphrase): APA does not require the page number, check with your instructor for preference. 

(Severson & Martin, 2009)

References:

Severson, K., & Martin, A. (2009, March 3). It's organic, but does that mean it's safer? The New York Times. Retrieved from http://www.nytimes.com

Umpqua Community College Library, 1140 Umpqua College Rd., Roseburg, OR 97470, 541-440-4640
Creative Commons License Except where otherwise noted, content in these research guides is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.